Blue Rug Progress #5

I finally finished the second zigzag motif. I forgot to put in the little separating band before starting the new motif, so I had to rip out what I had done the first evening. Then got back to work. The separator band is light blue this time. For the zigzag motif, I started with the dark blue, then added the small crosses in yellow. Outlining the yellow with Natural took quite a while.

DiamondZigzag1Filling in the diamonds took three passes. First the dark blue again, then Latte, and finally light blue. Finishing the triangles, I used Cappaccino and then top-stitched with medium blue. These sections work up quickly and I finished last night.

DiamondZigzag2The rug at this point is 9 inches in length. About a third of the rug is now complete and the full rug photo is below. Since this is on a scroll frame, I had to take the photo last night so I could take the time to  roll the completed sections out of the way. So you won’t be able to see the whole rug for a while, unless I decide in the next week to take it off the scroll bars and put it on stretcher bars. That would be very large and hard to work with, so I can’t decide if I should do that or not.

BlueProgress5Next up is the last motif I posted before actually starting the rug. I’ll start that tonight. Only 6 more inches to reach the middle of the project. Don’t know about you, but I can’t wait to see this completed!

4 responses to “Blue Rug Progress #5

  1. You are fast, after all. This is perfectly gorgeous – and it’s kind of like a good book. I want to see the ending – the whole thing, but yet I wish the process could keep on going, as I enjoy watching and don’t want it to end.

  2. I’ve enjoyed watching this through the planning and the stitching so far,it is stunning. The colours are fantastic, and no, I can’t wait to see the completed rug

  3. I agree with Judy & Jane, I love watching the process, but will be anxious to see the finished product as well.
    I love the way you are manipulating the colors. In the photo, every other band seems to recede, did you plan it that way?!!

Leave a Reply

