Anti Atlas Rug – Progress #9

I’ve had a busy week and didn’t get much stitching done. But I finally have the first of the green squares to show you. Lots of forest green, toasty browns, and a pale yellow.

On the left is the original pattern, and on the right is my adaptation.

AntiSq7

DSC_0345

 

 

 

The original looks like it’s all one color to fill in the background and the diamond shapes. I wanted more variation than that. With the basketweave squares almost all one color, I thought it would look better to have more colors to add to the design. The pattern squares has 3 shades of toasty browns and two lighter shades of green. The same green family is used for the basketweave squares and the outer border.

The overdye for the inner border is from Valdani. I like the thread, but as you can see the colors don’t change as quickly as those from Needle Necessities, ThreadworX, or Watercolors. I think it will be okay in this case though.

The whole rug so far looks like this. The end is approaching. I hope I have more time to stitch next week so I can have this finished by the middle of the month.

DSC_0346

2 responses to “Anti Atlas Rug – Progress #9

  1. Hi Jan,

    I’ve been enjoying watching your progress on the rug. Wonderful job!

    Though I must admit, I’m more partial to the blue section. 🙂

    Cynthia
    Windy Meadow

Leave a Reply

