How to Adapt Needlepoint – Step 1

Step 1 – Decide what you are going to adapt.

The last area I’m going to study is the High Atlas Mountains. I’ve looked at and read quite a few books on Moroccan and Berber rugs. I’ve picked out four rugs that I really like and that are different from the others I have already worked on. The following are 3 of those rugs for you to look at.

HighAtlasInsp

HighAtlas10

HighAtlas12

I’ve saved this area for last because the designs are more complicated and I wanted lots of practice with the motifs before I had to put them into this more stylized type of rug.

The one that I’m going to work on is the one on the left above.


I love the bottom right rug as well. I’m thinking a few pillows based on that one in the future. We’ll see.


I like the colors and the arrangement of the various motifs in the one I’ve selected to work on. There are solid colored areas, and many motifs. Studying the motifs on this particular rug, there isn’t a defined order. They aren’t stitched in neat little bands. This will be a challenge (though I’ll probably establish my own pattern as I stitch it).


So Step 1 is complete. It’s also the easiest of the steps. Stay tuned on Wed. for Step 2.

3 responses to “How to Adapt Needlepoint – Step 1

  1. My eye went straight to the one on the lower right – lots of possibilities there, as the widths are random and it has those fascinating little cross bars to break up the vertical stripes. (or horizontal, depending on which way the rug lies.)

  2. That is interesting as just like Judy Harper did, my eyes also went straight to the one on the lower right though the other two are lovely in their own rights.

    I do love those colors and designs so that will be interesting to see how you go about selecting stitches and patterns.

    Pierrette =^..^=

Leave a Reply

