How to Adapt Needlepoint – Step 5 Again

Step 5 – Part 2 Practice Stitching and Starting Layout

I’m still working on motifs for the new rug. Here are two more I can share.

VMotif

I don’t have a name for this motif. I’ve never seen it before, but I like it. I don’t have any of the dark brown yet, so I used black in this adaptation. The canvas shows through on the black stitches. I’ll need to rethink the stitches on this some more.

The second motif is one I used for the first time on the Anti Atlas rug. I think it looked better in green. I may need to change some of the colors.

NewMotif

After working on some of the motifs, it’s time to put them together and start laying out where the motifs will appear in the rug.

DSC_0374

The bands with the X squares are continuous, so I don’t need to design anything for that band.  The long bands the top and bottom are continuous and have lots of motifs, some of them very close together. At times there doesn’t seem to be a pattern to the design either. I’ll have to plan how I want to do these long bands before I start working on them. There are also two bands through the middle that are long continuous bands. Then I’ll have to plan the three short bands across the middle of the rug.


One way of planning these bands is to put the practice stitching pieces together to see how they look. It’s easy to rearrange them until I find an order that I like. Here’s what the 4 piece I have stitched look when put together. Do they look okay? Should I change the order some? What else needs to be added? Should any of them be repeated within the band? I’ll need more motifs before I make any final decisions.


BandA

I’ll be visiting my granddaughters (and two of my sons) for a few days. While I’m away I still have things to work on.

I’ll be teaching the girls to needlepoint! We’re going to have a lot of fun.

The rug was starting by using “twining” so I need to see what that is and if I can use it.

I need to decide how to do the narrow black and white bands – at the beginning and in the yellow and black areas.

The black sections have larger motifs that I need to figure out.

See you in a few days.

2 responses to “How to Adapt Needlepoint – Step 5 Again

  1. Hi Jan,

    Have fun with the family!

    We’ll look forward to what you come up with next. 🙂

    Cynthia
    Windy Meadow

Leave a Reply

