High Atlas Pillow – Progress 2

With the center finished, it’s time to start on the large rectangles that surround the center. The photo of the rug detail below shows most of the motifs that I will be working with for this pillow.

HA12-detailI started with one toward the left. The triangles were stitched over 2, 4, 6, 4, 2 threads. I have a limited palette of colors since I’m using only the colors I had left from the rug project. I’ve used several combinations of light and dark threads for the triangles and the satin stitched stripes. The stripes were stitches in varying widths, from over 2 threads to 4 threads. The rectangle measures 5″ X 2″.

HAPillow-2Here is how the pillow looks right now. The next pattern isn’t working the way I had envisioned it, so I’m rethinking how to proceed. It has some more open parts and I’m not sure I like the look. We’ll see what I can come up with to make it look better.

HAPillow-3

3 responses to “High Atlas Pillow – Progress 2

  1. It’s looking great, and I love the colors. It’s strange, but that long side border keeps reminding me of Australian Aborigine art with the “dots.” I’d love to see you interpret that part.

Leave a Reply

