Medallion Rug Planning

I’ve been a little under the weather this past week with a cold, but I’m still thinking ahead. It’s about time to start the next rug, so I’ve been doing a lot of thinking and planning. I showed you a photo of an antique rug last month that is my inspiration for the new rug. But all the photos have been put away and I’m designing the rug on my own. The first thing I did was think about the layout of the rug. The antique rug has lots of triangles, but I’m doing something different. This might be a little light, but you should be able to get a rough idea of what I’ll be doing.

I’ll be stitching three borders around the rug. The X and Diamonds at each end just mark the place where I will be putting large motifs. The center is an elongated octagon with a border around it. So I have lots of work to do. I have four borders to play with and 3 large motifs to plan.

Then I needed to decide the colors to use for the project. I knew I wanted dark blue and lots of red. This type of rug is more like the traditional Turkish, Persian, and Oriental rugs. In Morocco, they are called Rabati rugs – rugs from the capital of Rabat.

I decided my main colors quite easily, but needed some other colors to provide contrast in the borders and the motifs. I have three picked out, but have three more in the wings if I need them. Here’s the palette:

These are all Silk & Ivory by Brown Paper Packages which will be used on 13 count canvas. Starting on the left –

Classic Navy – the color for the center background

Midnight – used in borders and maybe motifs

Merlot – the edges of the borders

Cabernet – borders and motifs

Burgundy – the main red color which will be used as often as possible

Bordeaux – borders and motifs

Claret – borders and motifs

Dijon – borders and motifs

Paprika – borders and motifs

Curry – borders and motifs (finally gives me the gold color I really wanted but couldn’t find the right shade – thanks Anne!)

Now to practice stitch and get more details decided. I hope to be able to start work on this rug December 1st.

3 responses to “Medallion Rug Planning

Leave a Reply

