Medallion Rug – Progress 10

First – a thank you to all of you have made 2009 such a wonderful blogging year for me! I appreciate all of you visiting this blog and following my designing and stitching experience.

I finished up the borders on the left side so it’s ready to be stitched across the top of the rug at a later date. Then I treated myself by starting the center of the rug. The center medallion is an elongated octagon and I started by outlining half of the medallion. The straight sides are Gobelin stitch over two threads. The slanted stitches are Diagonal Mosaic. Each post from now on will give you a little taste of the medallion. There are many steps to this. Next, I’ll work on the rest of the border and start a small motif that will go around the inside edge.

Then on to the background for the medallion. This will all be done in Classic Navy Silk & Ivory. I wanted to use a stitch that would work up quickly and not be too busy. I though about an octagon shape to mimic the medallion, but it would have to be done in straight stitches and I’m trying to avoid them for this rug. Since this is being stitched in a dark thread, I didn’t want to any chance of the canvas showing through. And I also thought about the Scotch stitch, but didn’t like the look of all the little squares. So I decided to use Byzantine done over four threads. It’s hard to see in the photo below, so I’ll try for a better photo next time.

I have a lot left to do. I’ll work on the center, more background, and start working on the borders for the right side of the rug over the next few days. Here is the rug today.

Here’s hoping 2010 is a year of health, happiness, and wonderful stitching!!

3 responses to “Medallion Rug – Progress 10

  1. Hi Jan,

    I have been watching the progress of this rug since you have started and I must say that I am totally in love with it. The design and colors used are absolutely gorgeous and look so rich.

    You are so good at creating one lovely rug after another.

    Wishing you another year of great blogging and beautiful stitching.

    Pierrette =^..^=

Leave a Reply

