Medallion Rug – Progress 11

I’ve worked hard the last few days. Two skeins of Classic Navy have been used to complete what you see of the medallion background. Still a long way to go. I’ve lightened the photo so you can see the Byzantine stitch better. The outline of the medallion is complete and I’ve started to add the Snake motif around the inside edge of the medallion. When the Snakes are done, I’ll repeat the edge border before I start on the center of the medallion. The border for the Skeleton motif has been stitched all the way around too. It’s easier to see how much work I still have to do.

One of the things I’ve been doing on this rug is the use of four needles for the threads. For the past few days, I’ve threaded three needles with Navy and one needle for the medallion border. I don’t want to stop every 10 minutes to turn the canvas over and tie off the old thread and start a new one. So I do four at a time. With this background, I use one thread to start a new row, one thread farther along the last row where the last thread ended, and one toward the bottom of a row where there wasn’t enough thread to complete a row. When all three navy threads are done, I work as far as I can with the outline and then turn it over and get four more threads ready to go. If I could do 10 threads in the morning and 10 threads in the afternoon, I would be using up a skein of Silk & Ivory every day. I’m not quite that fast, so I try to do 12 – 15 thread a day.

I want the borders along the sides to be completed before I start stitching the navy background. Over the next few days, I’ll work on the borders on the right side and will continue to stitch the background along the bottom of the medallion. I’d like to finish the Snakes too if I have time.  Here is the rug today – at not quite five weeks (that’s Monday night).

3 responses to “Medallion Rug – Progress 11

  1. I’m really anticipating the center medallion – the navy might be tiresome to work, but it will really enhance the bright design. Beautiful thing, this one is.

Leave a Reply

