Adopting Needlepoint

I’m sure that many needlepointers are like me: I have UFOs (unfinished objects), kits that haven’t been started, a few painted canvases waiting my time, and in my case new designs rolling around in my head waiting for a turn to be stitched. But at the local ANG chapter meeting on Monday night, we were presented with a chance to adopt a large project that another member would not have the time to finish. I loved it the minute I saw it, but didn’t claim it. No one else did either. When I got home, I told my husband about it and he wondered why I didn’t say I wanted it. Then Tuesday morning, I decided I had to have it and made phone calls. It didn’t cost me very much, but it’s worth so much more. May I present my new canvas –

I don’t see a designer name on it. It’s on 10 ct. canvas and measures 4 feet by 5 feet! A small portion in the upper left corner has been stitched, so I will start by finishing that square and then continue from there. What makes this even more wonderful is that it came with all the wool thread to stitch it and a five foot frame with the canvas attached!!

I’ve shown you a photo of my small needlepoint room and how crowded it was when I put together my new frame from Christmas. With this new, larger frame coming I had to do a lot of work in a hurry. I moved furniture around and stacked everything else under the desk and on the desk, etc. When I was finished, I had the short wall cleared and ready for the new frame and rug.

You can see the thread caddy against the wall and the basket of all the yarn to complete the project. I’ve pulled out some of each color of wool now and put the rest in the closet. My Moroccan rug and frame sits in front of this one now. I will only work on the new rug on Sundays – slowly does it. It’s all done in basketweave. The rest of the week I’ll work on my normal projects. I have no idea where this will go when it is done, but I figure I’ve got a year or two to figure that out.  I’ll show this on the blog a couple times a year so you know how things are going.

I’m so happy to have this beautiful rug! He’s found a very loving new home.

9 responses to “Adopting Needlepoint

  1. I am sure it will be very happy in it’s new home where it will be loved and cherished. Look forward to keeping up with this and all your other projects

  2. This takes me back to the “good old days” in the 70’s, when I was designing, and did rugs – beautiful. This is a traditional, classic piece that will never go “out” – and the colors are great. Traditional American Patchwork!! I look forward to seeing it grow.

  3. Hi Jan,

    Oh, I love the rug!

    Traditional quilting designs and it’s in the colors that I love. Or at least it looks like the colors that I love based on what I’m seeing on my monitor. 🙂

    I don’t blame you for going back and getting it. It’s gorgeous!

    Cynthia
    Windy Meadow

Leave a Reply

