Needlepoint Moroccan Ribbons – Progress 2

I have a tight deadline looming this week and haven’t had as much time to stitch on Ribbons. I have worked on the center only. I started by using Upright Cross in white gold Neon Rays +, red Sprinkles, and blue Snow.

Then I stitched around them with #12 Kreinik. I had originally planned to use the white gold Snow, but it was too thick. I stitched over three threads on the diagonal and then stitches over two threads extending the lines beyond the previous stitching.

I’m not sure I like it – maybe too much metallic. I started on one inner corner and stopped. I’m not sure if it will stay as is. The two ideas I had for filling in the space between the corners and the center hasn’t worked out on a piece of scrap canvas. So I’ve stopped working on it for now and will see how things go tomorrow. If a solution doesn’t come to me in a day or two, I’ll put the project away for a week and see if that helps. In the meantime I can start on the teal rug if I need to. Here’s the whole ribbons project as of this morning.

If I meet my deadline this week, I’ll be able to show you the project next week. Stay tuned.

6 responses to “Needlepoint Moroccan Ribbons – Progress 2

  1. Its almost Christmasy with the metallic and doesn’t remind me of the original piece which your work usually does. I am sure that doesn’t help much but I do look forward to seeing what you change. Maybe something soft instead of the Kreinik?

  2. Not knowing what’s in your head (!), depending on what will be around this, I’d say either make the crosses non-metallic & leave the framework, or vice versa. So far it is quite “patriotic”.

  3. Hi Jan,

    I scrolled down to the original picture and I don’t see the sparkle in the original rug. Is it there?

    Maybe that’s what is bothering you. It has too much sparkle or the colors are making it look like a sparkly Christmas red/white and blue design as opposed to a rug.

    Personally, I like the sparkle but is that the look that you are trying to achieve?

    How about going with the flow with this one and make it very sparkly with lot’s of bling and see what happens.

    Or you can take out the center sections and try it with more eathy colored threads.

    Cynthia
    Windy Meadow

  4. I appreciate all the feedback. I’m still thinking about what to do. I’m not trying to duplicate the look of the original embroidery. I wanted to create my own pattern just using the outline of the ribbons from the original. While I try to figure out how I will continue on this piece, I’ll start on the teal rug. I should have enough done to do a post in another day or two.

Leave a Reply

