Teal Needlepoint Rug – Let’s Begin

The weather here in Northern California has been very spring-like with temperatures in the lower 70s most of the week. This is the perfect time to start the teal rug with lots of spring colors to stitch with.

As usual, I’m using all Silk & Ivory threads. From left to right we have: Teal, Lily Pad, Lagoon, Stream, White, Sloe Gin Fizz, Singapore Sling, Butter, Daffodil, Lilac, Petunia, Apricot, Cameo, and Bisque. That should be enough to create a lively, spring rug!

This rug will be a little smaller than the Medallion rug. I’ve measured out a stitching area of 16″ X 26″. I knew there was a flaw in this canvas toward the top and was fortunate to fit the rug into the space available with just under an inch of space above the rug before the flaw. This should be just right. I’m also doing something a little different with this rug. I usually start at the bottom and work my way to the top. The second half of the rug is always a little boring for you viewers since it is a repeat of what I’ve already done. I also refrain from showing you anything about the middle of the rug until I get to that point – a little surprise for you to enjoy. So this time, I’m going to stitch the border all the way around the rug first. It’s an easy border and should move along quickly (once I’m past my deadline of Monday). Then I can stitch each band at the bottom and the top of the rug at the same time. I’ll work my way toward the middle and end with the center band – finishing with the surprise motif at the end.

On to the border. I showed you this motif and said I needed to make two changes to make it look better. I left out the tent stitches above and below the small squares. And I needed to change the divider between the little motif that is repeated for the border. It was a light color and stitching it in backstitch made the stitches just disappear. Not good. So I have made the dividers Teal to match the Gobelin border. This was done with just two stitches done over 4 threads. This matches the Half Scotch stitch that is done on each side of the divider in white below so the stitches stand up higher on the canvas and are visible. I did this divider first, every 10 threads, to set up the pattern very quickly. Then I added the white Half Scotch stitches and finally the Scotch stitch in Lagoon to finish the motif.

Doing the dividers first also gave me a very nice way to deal with the center of the side, with two stitches meeting in the middle.

I’ve only had an hour a day to work on this, so I haven’t gotten very far. With 3 hours over 3 days, this is the bottom of the rug. I’ll work up one side next, across the top, and then down the last side. You get the idea.

It’s not much, but it’s a start. At least this project is going according to plan. Off to work on my other project.

5 responses to “Teal Needlepoint Rug – Let’s Begin

Leave a Reply

