Teal Needlepoint Rug – Progress 3

Stil not a lot of time for stitching, but I get a little done each day. The border is completed all the way around now. And I’ve started on the first motif band.

As I planned out this band, there would be 12 small blocks of different colors. I decided to use two shades of one color for a block and then fill it in with white. So I pulled a few strands of each of my colors and came up one color short. I have a beautiful Apricot color but I didn’t have a second color to go with it. So I searched through the drawer of Silk & Ivory and was happy to find a skein of Lion which will work perfectly. There will be 4 blocks of each color with a small divider done in Lily Pad, a little lighter than the teal outer border.

The top, middle diamond, and bottom are done in the same  light color. White is used to stitch the area surrounding the center diamond. Then I use the darker shade of the same color to stitch the sides. I stitched the first 4 squares, then reversed the colors for the second set, using the darker shade for the top, diamond, and bottom. The last set will again start with the lighter color. I haven’t finished a whole row yet, but you can see how it will look in the photo below.

There isn’t a lot of difference between the two shades of each color but I hope it works okay. When the band is completed, I’ll stitch a row of Gobelin over 2 threads across the top of these little squares before I start the next motif. I also will stitch this first motif row across the other end of the rug before I start the next motif row.

I want to get this end done today, so it’s back to work. Tomorrow I’ll work on the other end and post when it’s done.

4 responses to “Teal Needlepoint Rug – Progress 3

  1. These colors are working up beautifully! I think you like to work on it because it is very Spring-like & we are all ready for Spring! Lovely.

  2. Hi Jan,

    Yes I can see the difference in colors especially on the last picture.

    It’s so nice right now to see a project with pretty spring colors. Especially now that all of our snow is finally melting and now we have brown grass to look at.

    Cynthia
    Windy Meadow

Leave a Reply

