Teal Needlepoint Rug – Progress 5

Not a lot of progress to report today. Yesterday, I started getting sharp pains in my left thumb so I have been taking it easy. I’m reading, researching for two new projects I want to add to my To Do List for this year, etc.

I’ve finished the motif row of tiny squares – all done in Scotch stitch. I’ve started this row on the other end but didn’t get very far yesterday. At the opposite end I’m keeping the different shades of teal the same for each repeat of the motif, but moving around all the pastels colors so the two ends won’t be exactly the same.

Since I have four shades of teal to use for the rug, I’ve decided to use Lily Pad (a medium/dark shade) for all of the separator rows and stitches. That way I have a light, a medium, and a dark teal to use for motifs throughout the rug. And I’ve added the separator row to the top of the tiny squares in the photo below.

Here is the bottom of the rug so far. I only took the one photo this morning.

I’ll head upstairs now and see how an hour of stitching goes. I want to finish this motif row at the top of the rug and start on the next motif row for my next post.

3 responses to “Teal Needlepoint Rug – Progress 5

  1. This is absolutely gorgeous! The row of multi-color Scotch stitches and the dividers seem to calm down the squares below and give the thing more order. I love the colors.

  2. I love seeing how much progress you’ve made on your rug. Question: I’ve never stitched a rug (I’ve done many latch hooked rugs and stitched many other projects, just never rugs). How do you finish your rug off? Do you attach a backing piece,etc?
    Carolyn
    http://www.stitchopedia.com
    An encyclopedia of needlepoint stitches…

  3. Sorry to hear about you thumb, is it feeling better? I am really enjoying the progress on the teal rug, it is so cheerful and quite a change from the rich colors of the last rug.

Leave a Reply

