Teal Needlepoint Rug – Progress 9

It’s been a week since I hurt my hand. The hand improves a little every day  but it’s still not well enough to needlepoint. Maybe in a few more days. Till then I can still report a little progress.

I started the fourth motif before I hurt my hand – a very small, simple motif called Hooks. It alternates white with the darkest teal color. The same hook is stitched right side up and upside down so they interlock.

Thought I haven’t been able to complete the row yet, I’ve started working in it 2 strands a day, using only my left hand. I wouldn’t do this with a more complicated motif, but this one I’m able to handle okay with the left hand. Yesterday, I had my DH come to the needlepoint room and turn the canvas around for me so I could start the second half of the row. It was tightening the knobs on the rug frame that started all the trouble, so he won’t let me do it by myself for another week or two. He’s such a sweetheart! Maybe I can finish the row tomorrow.

I tried to work on the adopted rug, and failed miserably. So that one will have to wait for another week or two.

6 responses to “Teal Needlepoint Rug – Progress 9

  1. I’m glad you’ve got someone to help you with the work that did the damage. It’s so easy to forget to be careful when you just want to get on with something!

  2. Glad to see you are getting better. I am still in therapy for at least three more weeks. I too have tried stitching with my left hand and it is not so hard, as I stitch on a frame. Nothing fancy though.

  3. I like the division. The pattern is very crisp and I think makes a nice contrast to the softer stitches that have come before.

  4. Hi Jan,

    I know your frustrated but don’t push the hand! Or should that be “Talk to the Hand”! 🙂

    Give it plenty of time so you don’t have problems in the future. Please…

    Cynthia
    Windy Meadow

Leave a Reply

