Teal Needlepoint Rug – Progress 13

I’ve been working on the Giant Rice Stitch motif. One side of the rug is completed and the other side will be completed on Monday. I wanted to do something different between the motifs instead of Slanted Gobelin. So I made long straight stitches and tied them down with a large cross stitch. I really like the way it looks.

I’ll add the divider border above it before I start on the center motif and borders. Only 6 inches to go!!

Speaking of the center – I would like your opinion on something. There will be some of the spring colors in the center, but not a lot. It will mostly be shades of teal. I had originally planned on stitching the background for the center in the darkest color, but now I think that would be too dark for the overall look. Do you think the medium teal would be better? That’s the darker of the two background colors in the rice stitch motif row. I think that would look better. I can use the darkest teal in the motifs so they will stand out. Let me know what you think. And thank you for the input.

Tomorrow is Patchwork Quilt Rug time and I hope to finish most of the borders on the right side of the completed square. Can’t wait!

8 responses to “Teal Needlepoint Rug – Progress 13

  1. I’m so relieved to see you back stitching, as I missed watching it. I quite agree with you that the darkest teal is way too dark – go with the medium!

  2. This is looking great and you are making great progress despite the difficulties you’ve had. Congratulations. I also agree with both you and Judy – the medium teal is the way to go – this piece has a lovely light and bright feel and if the center is dark it will totally alter this effect.

  3. Thank you all for the comments! I’m glad my thinking is correct and will definitely do the center background in the medium teal. I’ll be working on the center a little at a time and will post several times a week so you can see how it develops. Thanks again for the feedback.

  4. Hi Jan,

    I’m a little late reading and commenting, but yes, please use the medium teal. The dark is going to make it look like the hole that Alice falls into Wonderland!

    Cynthia
    Windy Meadow

Leave a Reply

