Inspiration for the Next Rug

The teal rug won’t be done for a couple weeks, but I’m already thinking ahead to the next rug. The Silk & Ivory has been ordered so I’ve been think about what motifs to use and what size it should be. Here is the inspiration for the next rug.

This is the oldest surviving rug in Morocco. It was stitched in 1798 – the year is woven into the rug at one of the corners. This is just a part of the rug and I’ve searched everywhere trying to find a photo of the whole rug, but have had no luck. I haven’t decided yet, but this one keeps calling me to use the Mosaic stitch. If you click on it to make it larger, you may have the same feeling.

I love the large motifs in the wide bands on the left and right of the area shown. I’ll work on how to stitch them first and then decide how to fill in around them. This will take time but I’m really looking forward to it.

5 responses to “Inspiration for the Next Rug

  1. Hi Jan,

    Very interesting with many different motif’s that can be used.

    It also reminds me of Quaker or Folk Art stitching with the motifs randomly spread around the rug. Looks like fun!

    What colors are you going to be using?

    Cynthia
    Windy Meadow

Leave a Reply

