Teal Needlepoint Rug – Progress 14

I finished the Giant Rice stitch band and like the way it looks.

Then I started on the center of the rug. There will be 3 motifs called Double Horns across the middle of the band. And there are little fish spaced in between them. The background will be stitched in Silk & Ivory Lagoon, the middle teal color.

Everything is started but I have a long way to go. I’ll fill in the fish last since it will be quick and easy. The Double Horn is started but there is more to be added. The background is being done with Scotch Stitch over 4 threads. I thought about and tried several other stitches but didn’t like them. The Scotch stitch was used in the border and in the second band at each end of the rug as well. So it ties the whole rug together. Over the next week, I’ll gradually work my way across the center and finish up the rug. I’ll post again when I’m about half done with the center.

7 responses to “Teal Needlepoint Rug – Progress 14

  1. I had to look at this again this morning – amazing and absolutely beautiful. I love seeing the needle threader lying there – it gives me an idea of the size of the piece.

Leave a Reply

