Teal Needlepoint Rug – Finale

Just finished the teal rug and HAD to show you. I said in the last post that I would fill in the fish last. Using what is probably one of my signature stitches, I filled in the fish bodies with the Rhodes stitch done in two colors. The fish were stitched using the lighter shade of each set of spring colors. To fill in, I did the first half of the stitches using the darker shade and then the top layer with white. It adds a touch of elegance to the middle and ties in all the spring colors that were used in this rug.

As usual, I have mixed emotions about the rug. I love the colors and I think all the motifs work well together. The straight stitches that form the horns allow the canvas to show through here and there. I haven’t been able to solve this problem in any of the rugs I’ve stitched. I’ll keep working on it. Overall, I’m pleased with the rug and glad my hand injury has healed enough that I can stitch again.

I’ll work on the Patchwork rug tomorrow since I have the Terry Dryden workshop on Saturday and Sunday. Have a great weekend everyone!

15 responses to “Teal Needlepoint Rug – Finale

  1. Absolutely beautiful, Jan! The colors in their various combinations work perfectly–a real breath of spring. Good job! Look forward to the next adventure!

  2. Hi, I was thinking about your dilemma with the canvas showing through the straight stitches, and had a couple thoughts. I have read of others who paint the canvas underneath sections where the stitching doesn’t cover the canvas completely, and I also wondered if you could first lay down straight stitches running the other direction, kind of like satin stitch padding, which would help cover the canvas more completely.

    I love reading your blog, and watching your rugs grow. Your use of color is awesome, and the finished rugs are truly works of art. I have been reading your older blogs as I have the time, and really enjoy all the information and inspiration in them. Thank you for taking the time to post all that you do.

    I am glad that your hand is better. It is a bummer not to be able to stitch!! Sandi

  3. Beautiful (as usual). Can’t wait to see what you come up with next!
    As far as covering the canvas on your straight stitches, what threads are you using? You must have said, but I’m an airhead lately. Anyway, what if you increased the number of strands for the straight stitches? Perhaps only one or two more strands would give you the coverage you are looking for.

  4. This is just too beautiful. I LOVE the colors. To make sure canvas is covered when doing straight stitches, just add to the thread. Remember that bargello is upright stitches, and the plies are always doubled. You can’t make it cover if you use the same weight you used for tent stitches or slanted ones. I’m eager to see your next wonderful creation.

Leave a Reply

