Medallion Pillow – Getting Started

I completed this rug (shown below) in February. Since I’ll be starting a new rug soon, I needed a smaller project that I could work on in the evenings when I’m downstairs. I got out the Silk & Ivory thread I had left over from this Medallion Rug and decided to make a pillow to go with the rug. The rug will be framed and hung over the bed in the guest room. A matching pillow on the bed would look nice in the room as well.

When I do a pillow to match a rug, I use a lot of the same motifs. I arrange them differently since it is a much smaller piece. For this pillow, I decided to use the Twisted Ribbon border  for the outer edge of the 14 inch square pillow. The Twisted Ribbon border was used to separate the various borders and motif rows in the rug. One Octagon motif will be stitched in each corner.

This is how far I got last night and this morning. I’ll continue to stitch the Twisted Ribbon all the way around and add an Octagon at each corner before deciding how to stitch the rest of the pillow. I don’t plan out the pillows in detail. I like to just go with the flow and see how things develop.

5 responses to “Medallion Pillow – Getting Started

Leave a Reply

