Mosaic Needlepoint Rug – Progress 2

I didn’t get as much done as I thought I would the last 2 days. And I know I don’t have enough yarn to do the rug so I’ll be placing another order in a day or two.

These three motifs will be repeated across the row until there are 12 all together. And I’ve already used a full skein of Toast. The Toast color is the background color for all three of the narrow bands, so I will need a LOT more of it.

This narrow band is 42 threads wide and the band is about 9 or so inches wide at this point. This is as far as I will go on this band for now. This is one fourth of the width of the rug. I’m moving up to the next band which is 96 threads wide and will have a medium-sized motif right above these 3 small motifs. The wider bands will have a different color for the background – Giraffe for the medium-sized motifs and Gazelle for the very large motifs. I’ve started stitching the brown border and the four rows of background in Giraffe. When the first four rows of Mosaic stitch are completed, then I’ll be able to start stitching the first medium-sized motif.

I know a lot of people don’t like to stitch lots of background, and one way to avoid so much background would be to place the motifs closer together. Me, I don’t mind stitching backgrounds, since I don’t do it all at once. I’ll stitch 4 rows of background and then I can place the medium motif where it belongs and start working on that. When I get to that point, I’ll stitch the section like I do the large Patchwork Rug that I showed on Monday. One strand of a color for the motif and then one strand of the background to fill in around it. This method works out well for me most of the time. I just don’t think the motifs look good until the background is filled in.

I’ve now turned the canvas so the shorter (28″) side is facing me. I’ll be working from right to left to get about 9 inches done all the way across the rug. Then I’ll go back to the bottom and do the next 9 inches. The two 9 inch sections in the middle of the rug will have the very large motifs – each about 18 inches wide. This is going to take a while.

3 responses to “Mosaic Needlepoint Rug – Progress 2

  1. This is so beautiful, and I love the colors. Background is, indeed, relaxing, as one doesn’t have to think about it. I enjoy a good balance between design and background. Cardiologists in Tallahassee used to prescribe it for heart patients because of the soothing, rhythmic motion. (also knitting)

Leave a Reply

