Mosaic Needlepoint Rug – Progress 6

It will be in the 90’s for the next few days here in Northern California. So I’m trying the small rug frame downstairs in the living room. It will be crowded but hopefully it will be okay for 3-4 days. I want to be able to continue stitching on the rug.

I’ve moved on to the next medium-sized motif which will also have the Giraffe colored background. I got carried away getting the outline of the motif stitched in Espresso and now I’ll have to get caught up on the background while I fill in the motif. There isn’t as much background to fill in around this motif so I should make good progress there, alternating between filling in the motif and doing background.

If I take off the “arrow” at the top and bottom, this would make a nice little tile design. I’ll have to try that out and see how it looks.

I’ll fill in the motif with two shades of green (Dill Pickle and Sagewood), two lighter shades of orange/rust (Lion and Tiger) and then the background of the smaller areas with Butter Rum. The star in the middle will be done in Tiger.

When this motif is completed, I’ll start the last narrow band that will look like the first band. I’ll use the same three small motifs but put them in a different order. That will complete the first part of the rug – 9″ all the way across. Finally, it’s feel like this will be a rug. It’s just going slower than my other rugs, partly because it is so much bigger than the others I’ve done. Here’s the rug so far.

4 responses to “Mosaic Needlepoint Rug – Progress 6

Leave a Reply

