1 Thread Caddy and 2 Cats

When I adopted the large Patchwork rug, it came with a wooden thread caddy which I have grown to love since I got it in February. When I showed you my little needlepoint room recently, it had all the threads for the patchwork rug on one side and I had added all the threads for the Mosaic rug to the other side. All my threads were within reach no matter which rug I chose to work on. Then we come to the cats.

Daisy on the left has been with us for 9 years. She was born in the wild and was then captured by an organization that deals with feral cats. We got her when she was 5 months old. I’ve never had a cat that chewed on everything before. Beware of the cat became my daily mantra. She would eat my threads, phone cords, computer cables, and shoelaces! Everything got tucked away as much as possible. She finally outgrew this bad habit and never bothers my threads anymore. Good girl!

Julius, on the right, is not quite 3 and a real handful. Adorable when he’s sleeping on his back or curled up beside me and a little devil when he chases and pounces on poor Daisy.

I’ve had the thread caddy for 4 months without a problem. So why did things change? One night Julius (on purpose or by accident, we don’t know) was found in the upstairs hallway by my husband as he was going to bed. He had threads hanging over his head and wrapped around his paws! DH gently gathered the threads, put them on my chair in the needlepoint room, and closed the door so they would be safe. Since that day, Daisy has decided that munching on threads from the thread caddy is a fun thing to do. So all the threads have been removed and rest on top of their respective rugs. Sigh…

Before all this happened, I got a couple pictures of Julius with the thread caddy. He never played with the threads or pulled them down, but loved to walk through the threads and have them brush across his back. He’ll have to find something else to do in the needlepoint room now – no thread caddy anymore.

5 responses to “1 Thread Caddy and 2 Cats

  1. I love kitties! They are sooo bad sometmes, but great entertainment. Daisy looks like my son’s Aristotle, whose sister Psyche is the one who eats everything – plastic bags containing my fne threads are her favorite fare.

  2. I have a cat just over a year old that will take the cotton reels out of my caddy and chase them over the floor. She also takes great delight in taking pins out of the pin cushion. She is about to have kittens, hope she won’t be teaching them her bad habits!

  3. lol! What a little demon. Who knows what goes on inside the twisted minds of kittys?! All I can say is — it’s a good thing they’re so cute!

  4. I can’t believe the thread caddy lasted 4 months without a total meltdown! LOL Good thing you managed to get such a cute picture before they remembered to chew! 🙂

Leave a Reply

