Mosaic Needlepoint Rug – Progress 11

Slow progress. I’ve finished outlining the entire large motif now and I’ve filled in one end of the motif as well. One motif in the middle band is also completed and needs to have the background stitched.

As you can see, I have tons of background to stitch which I’ll work on as time and hot temperatures allow. DH and I have talked about bringing the frame downstairs again but I won’t do that today. Tomorrow is the Patchwork rug. If the hot weather continues all next week, then the frame and this rug will come downstairs on Monday and I’ll try to get more done each day.

In the meantime, I’ll have more time to work on the smaller projects I’m trying to complete. Safari is done and I’ll show it to you on Monday. I worked on Mindy’s Africa for a while last night and I want to get back to the Medallion Pillow this week and make good progress on that.

I also received a gift this week from Judy Harper. It’s a gorgeous book called To Weave For The Sun about Peruvian textiles. This afternoon I’ll start reading about that. I’ve thumbed through the photos already and found some I really like that will inspire some new projects. One in particular is done in orange, yellow and black and I know I’ll be sketching and playing with that one before the weekend is over. Thank  you Judy!!

4 responses to “Mosaic Needlepoint Rug – Progress 11

  1. You’re quite welcome. You know I expect lots of great entertainment on your blog with this, as I do love the Andean weavings and couldn’t figure out how to adapt them myself. I bought that book years ago from the MFA Boston, and have loved looking at it. I was glad to pass it on to good hands.

  2. I’ve been thinking lately that I need to take a break from Morocco and explore another area of the world. This beautiful book takes me to a whole new area and I was amazed to find one rug in the book that actually looks like a Berber rug with lots of 8-pointed stars. I don’t know when I will fit this into my list of things to stitch, but I promise the book has found a loving home and it will inspire a lot of new pieces!

  3. Hi Jan,

    I keep seeing native American art on this rug. Maybe it’s the colors… And that DD is working this summer in New Mexico.

    Lot’s of fun to watch this one develop. 🙂

    Cynthia
    Windy Meadow

Leave a Reply

