Mediterranean Tile by Ro Pace – Progress 1

If you read Liz Morrow’s blog, you know a little about the Mediterranean Tile by Ro Pace already. I visited Liz the end of May and got to meet her stitching friends, including Ro Pace. Everyone brought some of their completed needlepoint projects, so I saw quite a few of Ro’s designs. I finally decided that Mediterranean Tile was the Ro piece that I wanted to stitch – there are so many to choose from. Liz said she already had that in her stash waiting to be stitched, so we decided that we should do it at the same time to show, again, how changing colors on a project changes the personality of the piece. So here we are.

Liz is stitching in aquas and browns on a colored canvas. I’m using teal, fuchsia, garnet, and gray/silver on a white canvas.

I’ve gotten ONE thread farther along than Liz at this point. So my photo is similar to hers but there is a strand of dark teal Satin Floss that is the beginning of the star being filled in. A long way to go.

I’m enjoying this piece and it is definitely something very different from what I’ve been working on. Yes, there is some floss and perle cotton, but there are also over 20 spools of Kreinik in different sizes of braid and ribbon! I’ll work on this a couple afternoons a week so there won’t be a log of progress each week, but you’ll see it a few times along the way.

7 responses to “Mediterranean Tile by Ro Pace – Progress 1

  1. Your colors are stunning! I think I might borrow your color scheme for another project I’m about to start.

    This is going to be a lot of fun to watch both of you stitching this together.

  2. Certanly a different style of working!….and love those blue/greens!

    I hope you can deal with those shiny threads better than I can…I’ve always made a bit of a pig’s ear when using those Kreiniks 😦

    (..I’m skeining-up tomotrrow and hopefully posting then too 🙂

Leave a Reply

