Peru Coasters – Progress 2

The first version of these Incan coasters was done with Alpaca wool and Rainbow Tweed. The Alpaca label says it can be used on 14 ct. to 18 ct. canvas. I stitched the background with brown Alpaca using the Basketweave stitch – which stressed the thread and caused it to shred at times. So I shortened the length of the thread to about 15 inches and was able to stitch the entire length without it shredding. (I won’t recommend using Alpaca on 18 ct using Basketweave. It can be frustrating. Using a longer stitch would work better.)

The design was stitched using Mosaic stitch. Since I’m limited to 3 inches for a coaster, I filled in the remaining space using Basketweave. I had to choose this stitch because there are places where there is an odd number of spaces to fill in the area. This version has the fuzzy look of the original weaving that I showed in the previous post.

The second version is being stitched with floss. I’ve completed all the design part and started the background so you would be able to see the small cross-shaped motif in the center. The colors are the same, but they have been reversed for the design. This was also done in the original weaving. You can see that the design is crisper and cleaner when done in floss. This is another element to consider when choosing threads for a project. I specifically chose these two different sets of threads, using the same colors, to illustrate this point.

I didn’t add an extra background stitch around the first version because it was so thick – it will fill the coaster. For this version, I will add one row of brown around the entire design since the floss is thinner than the Alpaca. The extra row will be needed to fill the coaster.

3 responses to “Peru Coasters – Progress 2

  1. I do love the Peruvian textile designs! You’re doing a great job at adapting. About the alpaca – I can’t imagine why anyone would sell it for needlepoint. It is a very soft, flimsy fiber, and was discontinued for clothing shortly after it started – didn’t wear well.

Leave a Reply

