Tree of Life Quilt Square – Finale

I showed you the start of the sky last time. I started with the first step of the Alicia’s Lace stitch using 3 plies of DMC floss #3841 (the lighter shade) to do all the stitches slanting to the right. I then started the second step down the right side of the treetop using the same thread. I wanted the sky to be a little darker on the underside of the treetop so I did all the stitches slanting to the left under the tree with 3 plies of DMC floss #827, then filled in the rest of the stitches with #3841 (the darker shade). On to the right side. I already did the left side of the treetop a tiny bit darker and wanted to carry that through with the sky. So I did all the right slanting stitches in DMC floss #827. I didn’t want to go from the lighter color directly to the darker color at the top of the treetop, so I did about an inch of the left slanting stitches in #3841. Then did all the rest of the left slanting stitches in #827. As you look at the photo below with the sky completed, I hope you can see the subtle shading of the sky – a little lighter on the right side and a little darker on the left side. This makes it appear that the sunlight is coming from the right.

This was done to show you how to do some subtle shading in your needlepoint if you want to. It’s very easy with this stitch. This stitch also works well with two different colors, as you will see in the next quilt square I’ll be stitching.

On to the patch of grass on the bottom of the square. I started with 4 plies of DMC Color Variations #4070 that has light green and gold to look like fading grass at this time of the year. I did a straight cross over 4 threads. Then I went back over the straight cross with 3 plies of DMC Color Variations #4130 to make the smaller cross stitch. This left open spaces between the Double Cross Stitches. I filled them in with 4 plies of DMC Variegated floss # 111 to make small + in the empty spaces. I turned two plies of the floss in the opposite direction so that each stitch has gold and brown showing. My intention was to have grass fading in color for autumn and the other colors to represent all the leaves falling off the trees – rust, brown and gold.

This block is just over 8 inches from point to point. A traditional quilt block with a very modern touch.

Next week I’ll start a second quilt block done in plum and olive. See you then.

4 responses to “Tree of Life Quilt Square – Finale

  1. ..love the little panel!

    ..such simplicity, yet stunning when finished!

    I’ve just been looking at some “tree of life” designs myself..

    …with a mind to include a couple into my “creative” bits soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

