Young Man’s Fancy Quilt Block – Progress 4

The rest of the design was shown in white in the original block that I used as a model. But I’ll make some changes. Even though I want the rest of the sections to be very light, they don’t have to be all white. Some of the sections will have touches of light violet or light green to give them the appearance of light-colored fabric.

I started by filling in the center of each side with 4 plies of DMC floss Blanc using the Scotch Stitch.

Then I started to work on the triangular shapes in the corners. I decided to do the 2 triangles that are side-by-side using my favorite variation of the Oriental Stitch. I started with a row of Milanese Stitches down the middle of the triangle area using 4 plies of DMC Blanc. (To me, this stitch should be called a variation of the Milanese stitch.) The next row on each side has the stitches reversed. This leaves open spaces that can be filled with Gobelin stitches in another color. I used 4 plies of DMC floss #153, the lightest shade of this violet family.

This leaves the corner triangle and the center to be stitched. It should be completed in just a few more days.

3 responses to “Young Man’s Fancy Quilt Block – Progress 4

Leave a Reply

