Tunisian Rug – Finale

Finally!! I spent 8 hours over the last few days working to complete this rug.

Here is the inspiration for the rug:

And here is my adaptation:

Designed and stitched by Jan Fitzpatrick

25 skeins of Silk & Ivory from Brown Paper Packages were used

About 90 hours to complete over 6 months

Final size is about 17 inches by 26 inches

I usually finish a rug in about 9-10 weeks, but with other things going on this year I wasn’t able to work on this as often as usual. I love the look of this rug and enjoyed working on it. The Fungus family of colors was just perfect for this. Now I’ll have to get with it and start working on the stitch diagrams so I can write instructions for this rug. Several people have asked for them.

I’ll take a few days to rest up. Then I’ll start on the design of the Chinese rug. I need to start deciding on motifs to use, etc.

14 responses to “Tunisian Rug – Finale

  1. My 13 year old son saw some of the pictures while I was following your progress, he thought I should make one too. We both love it, and hope you enjoy it for many years to come

  2. I loved seeing the inspiration for the rug and your adaptation in the same post. Your work in adapting to needlepoint is remarkable! Thanks so much for sharing with us.

    Nancy

  3. Loved following you along with this rug. Will you be showing us how the finishing process goes? And finally where it ends up in your home.
    It was just beautiful watching the progress and can’t wait for the Chinese adaptation.

  4. A work of some importance! What do you do with your rugs when they are finished? Do you actually use them as rugs or do you hang them?

Leave a Reply

