Patchwork Rug – Back to Work

I haven’t posted about this rug since April because I haven’t been working on it. It’s time to get going again.

A little background first for those who are new readers to my blog. I bought this rug with all the yarn and the rug frame from a lady who originally purchased it probably in the 1970s. She started the first square but didn’t continue to work on it. I love the rug and was able to buy it the beginning of February 2010. It measures 4′ X 5′ in size! It painted on 10 count canvas and uses Paternayan yarn. Since then, I’ve slowly worked through some of the quilt blocks (there are a total of 12 blocks). I posted this photo in December, 2010 when I had completed the first row of the rug.

The end of April of this year, I posted Square 4.

Since I am starting to work on it again, I’m posting a photo of where I stopped in May. I had started Square 5, but hadn’t gotten very far.

The green house was completed and so now I’ll work on the background to surround the cream colored house so I can get that one done. Then I’ll have to scroll the rug a little to have access to the red and blue houses. Let’s see how far I can get on this by the end of the year. I hope to finish this square next month and start on the last one in this row.

My mother always called me a “cock-eyed optimist” when I was younger. I think that fits this project. I originally figured 2-3 years to finish this rug. Then I decided that one row a year would be more practical, making it four years. Now I’m not so sure that is even possible, but I’ll keep at it and see what happens.

7 responses to “Patchwork Rug – Back to Work

  1. I’m so glad to see this rug again and that you are making progress!

    Yes, I understand about the optimistic comment. That’s me… I always think I get so much more done in little time then what is realistic. But it keeps me happy! LOL!!!

    Cynthia
    Windy Meadow

Leave a Reply

