What do I do with my rugs?

I’ve had a lot of emails and a few comments asking me what I do with my rugs after I finish them. The first one I did was the blue rug, early in 2009. That one was “commissioned” by my husband for our bedroom. So it was framed and hangs over the bed.

I found it rather expensive to frame the rugs so lately I’ve have been rolling the rugs carefully and storing them in the closet of the needlepoint room. But I can’t enjoy them that way, so for the Tunisian Rug, I added 3 rows of Basketweave around the edges so I could fold that back and hopefully make a wall hanging out of it.

I’ve been searching the web trying to find the best way to back the rug (if it needs it) and how to bind the edges. I’ve found several sites and ways to do this.

This first site gave brief overviews of each method to hang a rug or wall hanging. http://www.marlamallett.com/mounting.htm  Using velcro isn’t an option for me. I don’t want to tack strips of wood on the walls of my home so that I can then velcro the rugs onto them. I was thinking something along the line of the casing or sleeve (like a quilt hanging). So I went on the search for more about that method.

These two links show other ways to bind edges as well.

http://www.woolbaasket.com/binding.html

http://www.theredsaltbox.com/RUGBINDING.HTML

I don’t want to use anything that has adhesive, like some rug binding tape. I’m afraid that it will hurt the canvas or the yarn over time. So I’ll probably use cotton twill binding tape. I’m not sure it needs a backing. A latch hook rug site says to use Monk’s cloth to back a rug. It’s cotton and won’t harm the silk and wool threads.

So here I am – trying to figure out what is best and how to go about it. Has anyone out there done this before? What did you use? Did you put a backing on the rug or wall hanging? Is it necessary? Any advice? All comments and suggestions are welcome.

6 responses to “What do I do with my rugs?

  1. My parents have made several latch-hook rugs and I have bound the edges of some of them. It was many years ago so my memory of it is not clear.

    I have used two different methods – one whipped (there is a special stitch) and the other bound with a binding tape that I hand stitched to the back. Both rugs have stood the test of time and they are used as rugs.

    None of their rugs are backed but if you are going to add a sleeve or casing, it might be easier to add that to a backing cloth than directly to the rug.

    The framed rug looks really splendid!

  2. Hi Jan,

    I wouldn’t worry about backing the rugs if they are going to be hung on a wall. What you do want to make sure is that they are hung straight and that there is equal pressure across the top of the rug. For example, when you hang a quilt, you add a sleeve all the way across the top of the quilt and then slide a rod through the sleeve. There is then equal pressure across the top. Have you googled to find out several of the hanging options that are used for quilts? I remember that there is one option where you don’t have to make marks in the walls to hang a quilt but right now can’t think of the name. 😦

    When I finished several hooked rugs years ago, I just did the binding stitch all the way around the rug to finish the edge which worked nicely.

    Hope this helps!

    Cynthia
    Windy Meadow

  3. Hi Jan,

    Should have added that you stitch both the top of the sleeve casing and the bottom of the sleeve casing to the quilt/rug. So you might want to use a fabric for the backing so that you can attach the sleeve to the fabric back as opposed to trying to stitch it carefully partway down the back of the rug.

    Cynthia
    Windy Meadow

  4. Our finisher uses binding stitch around the edges and does line the rugs. She usually does a hidden sleeve on the back and inserts a flat metal rod with 2 small holes at the end for hanging. If the rug needs to be weighted she will also add another sleeve and metal rod (no holes) on the bottom as well. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

