Exploring Publishing Options

I’m trying to find new ways to get information to my readers. I have several ideas that I want to try out.

1. I’ve always wanted to have PDFs available here on the blog, so I’m trying that out today. I’ve created a one page PDF of the Anatolian motif that was a Freebie here last year. I’ve made it a PDF. If you want to help me try it out, just click on the link below. It opens as a PDF and you should be able to save it to your hard drive after it opens in a separate window. Let me know if there is a problem so I can try to troubleshoot.

Anatolia

2. I don’t know programming, so I doubt I could create an App for anyone to use. BUT, Apple just released a free App for the Macs (available from the App store on your Mac) called iBook Author. I’ve downloaded it and will do some playing with that over the next few weeks. If I can get that to work, I’ll try to register with the Apple iBookstore. That would enable me to write an ebook on adapting (it’s already started) and sell it through the iBookstore. This might be another way to sell my patterns as well. Is there any interest in that? Apple says that any books created this way will be viewable on the iPhone an iPad.

3. I’ll also look into Kindle to see if I would be able to sell patterns and books through Kindle as well. I have an older Kindle, so I don’t know what the new Kindle Fire can do. I don’t think you can enlarge the pages or photos on it, so it may not be the best solution. Are you interested?

Let me know your thoughts on these methods of presenting my information and patterns. I really want to know if this is something that you, my readers, would like. If you have other ideas, I’d love to hear them as well.

Thank you all!

9 responses to “Exploring Publishing Options

  1. Jan,
    The PDF is terrific. Nice large picture with good colors, and a very easy-to-read diagram. I love this. I work on a PC, a MAC laptop, an iPad and an iPhone and I almost always have at least one of them in striking distance. I’ve purchased many stitch encyclopedias, and once thought I would always prefer paper over electronic stitch resources. But now I’m not so sure. Online versions can be in color; can be enlarged; and can be carried about. Articles and books can be bookmarked and annotated. I’d be very interested indeed! Good luck, and thanks for venturing into the unknown. Best
    RobinG in Indiana

  2. I downloaded, opened, saved anatoli to my hard drive, closed it and then reopened it.

    I have a Kindle Fire. It is a tablet PC. You can enlarge or reduce things the way I can on my Android phone which is, I think, the same thing on an Apple product. My husband has an iPhone but I don’t use it much.

    I have several needlepoint books on my Kindle. I love the portability of them and wish that more were out there.

  3. The PDF file opens just fine. I think (but am not sure) that books on the Kindle are black and white only. The images don’t seem as clear as on an iPad or even my little iPod Touch.

    Personally I think Kindle eBooks would be in great demand. Lots of folks have Kindles. However, I am very interested in learning about iBook 2 myself but will have to upgrade my operating system first. I’ve been putting that off because the current OS runs my home network. Don’t want to mess with something that took my husband (who is very computer literate) a week to set up!

  4. I was able to download successfully. I have a Kindle (version before Fire). It is not good for any kind of graphics, even book covers. It is is black and white, text is very good and easy to read. I would not use it for any kind of needlework charts.
    The new Kindle Fire probably solves some of these problems.

  5. “Anatolia” openned perfectly as a PDF (Which are really easy to print).

    I have an I-Pad, and would certainly buy a book written by you! (Aren’t fans nice?)

  6. Goodness, what an adventure! I can’t imagine using a tablet computer for a needlework chart, but I’m interested to see what other possibilities there are. My tablet runs Android, so I don’t know what the Kindle or the iPad are capable of..

  7. Hi Jan,

    I have IPhone and IPad and use IBooks, Kindle IPad App and also import PDFs into IBooks.

    I have to say that my definite preference is the PDF (Cloth Paper Scissors Magazine for example) as I can read these on IPad and PC, and print off from the PC any pages I need a printed copy of. For example, a copy of a chart so I can mark it as I work. They also show up exactly as the author wrote them, whereas Kindle formatting seems very hit and miss when compared to the actual printed version of the book.

    The downside to a PDF is you can’t simply go directly to a particular page from an index but this is not a major issue.

    Love the idea of more needlepoint books suitable for IPad. I use them heaps.

    Jacqui (in Auckland, NZ)

Leave a Reply

