Persian Iris Mandala by Chatelaine – Progress 14

I greatly admire the people who have completed a Chatelaine design. Cross stitch isn’t something that has interested me, until I started seeing all the designs from Chatelaine. So I decided that I had to do one. Crazy? Oh yea!

I’ve been having difficulty with Persian Iris. Two things in particular – doing half crosses correctly and working the metallic decoration on top of the cross stitches. But I’m still working on it. When I get frustrated, I put it away for a week or two and then try again. Which explains why I haven’t posted about the project for two months. But things went better last week when I got it out again. I’ve added the beginnings of the second set of buildings on the right side. I’ve also added the gold trim on the gold building next to the mosque. And the last things I stitched was the small square where the two sets of buildings meet to form the corner.

The blue archways done in Petite Treasure Braid gave me fits, but I was determined to get them stitched properly. Not a lot of progress, but progress none the less. I’ll work on something else this week and go back to Persian Iris again next week with high hopes of more progress and less frustration. Here is the whole piece so far (what can be seen while it’s on scroll bars).

6 responses to “Persian Iris Mandala by Chatelaine – Progress 14

  1. Hi Jan,

    It’s looking great.

    What difficulties are you having? Just email me if you need help. 🙂

    Cynthia
    Windy Meadow

  2. Hi Jan: I’m glad to be seeing this again. The Persian mandala is certainly one of my favorite pieces among all the projects you are stitching. Your patience and perseverance inspire me to continue on my Audrey project.

Leave a Reply

