Phone Apps and Inspiration

Do you have phone apps that you use or refer to when you’re stitching? I do have all the iPhone apps that have needlepoint stitches. I do most of my stitching downstairs while I watch TV, etc. and I refer to them frequently as I stitch.

I also have an app called Punto Croce that is for floss. It does 3 things: inventory of your floss, calculating how much floss you need for a specific size chart on a number of fabric counts, and color conversion. I use the color conversion all the time! I have a lot of Anchor floss that I’m trying to use up, so when I start pulling threads for a project that lists DMC colors, I use this app to convert DMC number to Anchor so I can search for them in my stash. And this app has DMC threads, Anchor, JP Coats and Sullivan so it covers a lot for conversion.

Then, on a lark, I searched the App Store for rugs. I found several from various stores that sell Persian Rugs. Since it was free, I downloaded Pak Persian Rugs. Now, when I need a break from stitching, I browse through 105 Persian rugs by style by collection or design. I’m getting itchy fingers to start working on a new rug design and I’ve always wanted to do a Persian rug. They are very detailed and I needed to work my way up to something more complicated. So here is my inspiration for the next rug:

It’s from the Pak Persian Rug app and is labeled as a Baluchi rug. It’s from the Eastern Iran or Western Afghanistan area. LOVE the center designs and will love stitching them. When I need a break from stitching, I’ll be playing with the various elements and creating my own version of this rug. I won’t be stitching until Oct. or Nov. but just think of all the fun I’ll be having trying to get this one ready to go.

I’ve joined the Petitpointers group on Yahoo recently, so that also helped make the decision to do this rug. With the detail involved, I’m going to create a chart for this design. I might use some specialty stitches but a lot of it will be Basketweave and Continental. I want LOTS of detail in this one. So I have a lot of decisions to make. Do I want to do Silk & Ivory on 13 ct or something on 18 count for a change. And I am very tempted to stitch the same rug on silk gauze at the same time. Won’t that be fun to watch! Let the thinking and playing begin!!

4 responses to “Phone Apps and Inspiration

  1. WOW. I love the Persian rug……you go girl. I can hardly wait for fall to see what you do with this inspiration !

  2. Let the fun begin, indeed! There are so many details you can choose from in this rug, you could design three or four different rugs to stitch!

  3. *Blink* Gorgeous, wonderful rug. Now I really will follow you, just to see what you do with it.
    But, apps? My phone is about 10 years old and doesn’t even fold up . . . I’m not sure I know what an app is. I use books!

Leave a Reply

