Baluchi Rug – Progress 10

Before I show you the progress on the rug, a bit of news first. I got an iPad Mini for Christmas and I love it! So I had to try out something new with it. I was getting tired of shuffling pages of the chart for this rug and trying to keep track of everything. So I made a PDF of the chart and put it on the iPad Mini. It’s wonderful!! And I can enlarge the section I’m working on if I need it too.

I’ve been working on the center section of the rug this past week. There is a LOT of gold in the middle section, so I’m trying not to use gold in the little areas around the middle. Pages 1-3 run through the middle of the large O-shaped motifs and the flower motif and you can see that I almost made it across those pages. I won’t need the chart now to finish going across since I can look at what is already stitched. But I will scroll the rug up now so I can continue to work on completing the first third of the rug. There will be 3 of these flower segments running down the middle of the rug.

Center-4

I’ll need to work on borders along the right side of the rug this week and finish the motifs that are started in the middle. Then I can work my way down the center for a while. Here is the whole rug as it looks today.

Baluchi-10

 

5 responses to “Baluchi Rug – Progress 10

  1. Hi Jan,

    I’m really enjoying the complexity of the pattern balanced by the use of the same stitch. It’s interesting the see the impact on the diagonal lines too. To be able to compare a very smooth line versus a jagged line. Sometimes I prefer one and sometimes the other. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I agree with Elizabeth about the geometry of the piece. What I love is all the colors playing against each other. And congrats on the iPad mini!

Leave a Reply

