Gossamer Fractal – Progress 2

It’s taken a while, but I’ve made some progress on the fractal. Those thin lines took a LONG time – changing threads for every 3-4 stitches. This piece has 60 colors in it and I’ve used at least 35 of them so far. Doesn’t look like it, right? The colors are shaded slightly from one to the next. Now that these thin stripes are done, I’m working on areas at the bottom and the right that are easier and faster to work on. Yesterday I worked on 3 colors on the top, right and did about 75 stitches. Sure is nice to get to one of these larger areas finally.

Fractal-2

If you square this piece off with the lowest stitches across the bottom and farthest stitches on the right, you will see that I’m more than halfway through Page 1 of this piece. Since this is a PDF file, I enlarged the pages so they are easier to read and mark as I work. Instead of 6 pages, I have 9 whole pages and 3 half pages. I hope to have Page 1 completed when I show you Gossamer again.

5 responses to “Gossamer Fractal – Progress 2

  1. Wow! This reminds me of the cross stitch pieces I did, with blended needles and only 1 or 2 stitches here and there. The resulting effect is beautiful, like your Fractal, but the labor and patience involved are much more significant than the naked eye can see. Beautiful! 🙂

  2. I see you put in a thread border that you didn’t have when you started the piece. I need to stitch in grid lines when I do a cross-stitch this big. Your Fractal has so many more stitches to do than my Audrey! I will “cheat” and won’t stitch the cream color background…I just used a cream colored Aida. Don’t get cross-eyed!

Leave a Reply

