Baluchi Rug – Progress 18

I’ve filled in the final outlined sections in the middle so the second medallion is completed. The little patches around it are also done and I’ve worked on the borders on both sides. And I actually got a start on the final medallion with the section with the + at the bottom of the photo.

Baluchi-18

I will scroll the canvas tomorrow and start outlining some of the sections for the last medallion – a repeat of the burgundy flower from the top of the rug. I’ll continue working on patches and borders as well. It’s starting to feel like the end is in sight, but it will take a while to actually get there.

 

4 responses to “Baluchi Rug – Progress 18

  1. Hi Jan: a couple of design and process questions. Do you chart your design using symbols or colors for the various colors of the chart? D you have a rough or neat and complete sketch/drawing of the completed design? Do you finish the thread on the working needle before re-threading, or so you have multiple needles threaded with different color fibers? As I’m working on Audrey, I was thinking that I should change my habit of working with only one needle, and have others threaded up ready to go, as the chart has so many colors, and often only one or two stitches of one color in a 10×10 block on the chart.

Leave a Reply

