Laura Perin’s Holiday Ornaments 2 – Second Finish

I love changing colors on a project, but this one is really different. Here is a photo of the ornament as Laura Perin stitched it.

Laura-2

I said in my last post about these ornaments that I was going to switch to Congress Cloth to make them smaller and then stitch each of them in my granddaughters favorite colors. I studied the three that were left to stitch to decide which one to use this time and it will present a challenge. I started by following Laura’s chart except for the colors. This granddaughter like dark pink and zebra stripes!! Since I’m using Congress cloth, I choose #8 perle cotton and #8 Kreinik braid as my threads. Here the center of the ornament. Dark pink taken care of.

Ansley-1

Now for zebra stripes. If you look at Laura’s version again, you’ll notice small off-white triangles around the outer edges with a red rectangle in between them. If I stitch those three areas as ONE area and use the Gobelin stitch, I can make the zebra stripes. I finished it this morning and really like how it turned out.

Ansley-2

I stitched the green Kreinik in the corners first, then did the stripes with a lighter pink above and below each stripe. I finished the corners using a Gobelin stitch as well. This ornament has really taken on a different personality and I had fun “adapting” it for my granddaughter. Now on to the next one – just changing colors on the next two.

 

7 responses to “Laura Perin’s Holiday Ornaments 2 – Second Finish

  1. As I’ve said before, I love your design sensibility, Jan. These will be truly special for your granddaughters. I love changing aspects of designs to make them more unique also. When you first write about the marrying of dark pink and zebra stripes, I wondered how you would do that. I have to say the color changes to incorporate dark pink and zebra stripes is a success!

  2. What a delightful adaptation. When you said ‘zebra stripes,’ I thought, ‘Uh oh, she’s in trouble!’ But you solved it, and it works!

Leave a Reply

