Jim Wurth Monrovia ornament – Progress 1

Since these ornaments are quick to stitch, I decided to get another thing off my To Do List. This is Monrovia and it’s done in the same colors as Arcadia that I did a few months ago. This is my 9th one in the series.

Though it’s only 5″ around, it took me 3 tries to get the outline correct. You’d think I could do it in my sleep by now. When the outline was done in Smyrna Crosses, I continued to work the divisions on the inside with Smyrna Crosses. The last stitch in each Smyrna done in the center was done with #12 Kreinik gold braid.

Monrovia-1

The last ornament Arcadia had pairs of areas that were done the same, but with different threads. This one has more area divisions. The next step was to create 4 identical areas. Rows of parallel lines where stitched with #12 Kreinik gold and then couched down with pale gray Elegance. The four areas all have this part done. The last step in this set is to do a Sprat’s Head over each area with white Neon Rays. I have one of those completed. I’ll finish the other three and then move on to the next set of four small areas to be done.

Monrovia-2

I’ll post again next week when I’m farther along with the piece.

4 responses to “Jim Wurth Monrovia ornament – Progress 1

  1. Have you finished your other Jim Wurth’s? How? They should make a wonderful display. I need to start stitching them too.

  2. Where can I find more information about the ornaments and do you know where I can purchase them. They are lovely and look like they are fun to stitch.

    Thanks,
    Roberta

Leave a Reply

