Father Christmas and Cats – Progress 1

This is my first time stitching on 25 ct Lugana over 1 thread. It really took me a while to get used to it and get a strategy going. I got very little done the first 1-2 Sundays I worked on this, but things are getting better. Two Sundays in a row now, I’ve been able to complete 3 little squares of 100 stitches. So I have my first update to show you.

This little square of 40 stitches by 40 stitches measures just over 1.5 inches square. That’s tiny but it’s a start. There are 14 different colors in the background for this piece and I’m hoping it will be a real knockout when it’s all done. It’s 140 stitches across the top, so I have a ways to go.

FatherC-1

I won’t show this piece very often, since it will be just the background for quite a while. I’d like to be able to get these four squares done all the way across the top by the end of the year, but I’m not sure that will happen. A little farther to the right I’ll be able to start the hat. Looking forward to that since it will use different colors. Here’s a photo of Father Christmas and Cats from Heaven and Earth Designs to remind you of what it will look like when it’s done. You can see how much background I still have left to stitch!

Father Christmas

3 responses to “Father Christmas and Cats – Progress 1

  1. Ais an extraordinary piece, Jan! Love the kitty border. The background looks challenging….one would never guess there are so many colors mixed in. Is each color used independently, or do you have to combine strands?

Leave a Reply

