Introducing the Border Rug – Progress 1

I started the design process for this rug in early December. Time to introduce you to it and get it started. I bought a book in the early 70s that reminded me of the rugs I had seen in Morocco. I’d only been back in the States for about 3 years when I found this book.

Cover

It’s a book of illustrations from North African Carpets, mostly Tunisia and Algeria. For the most part, they are all Berber designs. They have partial illustrations of rugs, but most of the book is motifs of all sizes and many, many borders for rugs. I’ve always wanted to do one of the rugs and now is the time. Rather than take one of the illustrated rugs from the book, I copied various borders that I liked, cut them out, and arranged them to form a border rug of my own. A rug with nothing but borders!

layout start

There is one border that will go all the way around the rug and others that will form bands across the shorter length of the rug. I bought a half hank of Cabernet Silk & Ivory thread and a few other skeins of colors I needed. Most of the threads will come from what I have in my stash. These are leftovers from other rugs I’ve done, such as the Mosiac Rug. So there will be lots of olive greens and rusts, and a few others (natural, black, light blue, light gray, etc.).

I used my cross stitch software to rough out these borders and a few that aren’t in the photo above, and started to do my practice stitching. I knew there would be spacing problems because of the cross stitch software so the practice stitching was even more important this time. My rug won’t look exactly like the borders shown above, but hopefully they will be similar.

I usually do a small border all the way around to set things off – using Slanted Gobelin over two threads. So I changed that up as well. There are three rows of Basketweave – black, natural (off-white), and black again.

Outer border

Then I finally started the first border. This is stitched mostly with Continental and Diagonal Mosaic stitches.

Border Rug -1

The photo seems a little dark – the burgundy is a little brighter. Working on the practice stitching for some of the other bands finds lots of repeats on stitches – Diagonal Mosaic, Ray stitches, and Sprat’s Head. This could prove interesting. Hope you will enjoy watching as I stitch it.

 

4 responses to “Introducing the Border Rug – Progress 1

Leave a Reply

