Introducing Nain Diamond Cross Stitch

Inspiration for new designs can come from anywhere! But you know I love rug designs the most. Even though I have many books on my shelves that have rug history, rug design, Persian rugs, Tribal rugs, etc. I still love to surf the web looking for something unusual. I found this rug on UrbanRugs.com. It’s a Persian Nain rug from Iran. The wheels in my little brain have been spinning for a couple of months now – a new rug (maybe next year), needlepoint pillows and maybe some cross stitch designs.

Nain-1

Since I already have a large rug started, I decided to do a cross stitch design based on the center of the rug. I charted it out and started stitching. Did some ripping and then got on track with some changes. Here are the colors I’ll be using and a peek at a little of the chart (some things have changed since this photo was taken).

NainXS-colors

Right now the design is about 6″ on 14 ct Cream Aida. I’ve filled in the little holes in the borders around the middle with white floss, but I’m not sure I like it. I might try the lightest turquoise to see if I like it better (beads maybe?).  The center section is now completed and I’ll be adding to the brown border as I fill in the hexagons that are completed. Eventually it will be a 12″ diamond.

NainXS-1

I’ll try to get one point on the diamond outlined by the next time you see it.

5 responses to “Introducing Nain Diamond Cross Stitch

  1. I like the colors you’ve chosen, Jan. As to the white in the border, I’d leave it until some of the other sections are filled in. You might like it. Beads are always nice, or maybe an ecru floss instead of the white so it won’t look so bright?

  2. I like Wendy’s idea of ecru instead of white, but I agree that you should leave it a while. When there is so much of the white fabric still showing the colour balance isn’t what it will be when more of the sections are filled in..

Leave a Reply

