Nain Diamond Needlepoint

Here we go again! I’m stitching the Nain Diamond, but in needlepoint this time and it’s going much faster. I’m stitching on 18 ct canvas and it will be about 10″ x 10″ when done. The one thing slowing me down in the design stage was how to make the diamonds. I couldn’t figure out how to make it pointed on all four sides. The final decision was to keep it pointed at the top and the bottom and flat on the sides since I was going to be doing Slanted Gobelin for the straight lines. I looked through a lot of stitch books and the stitch that intrigued me was Interlocking Gobelin. Could I do that on a slant? I figured it out and really like how it looks – and it’s super easy and fast to do. That’s one of the reasons I didn’t wait to show you this border completed. Look at the diamond on the right that is mostly rust colors. The stitches meet at the top and the bottom and overlap one stitch on the sides. Perfect! I have to turn the diamond a quarter turn for the outside diamond on the left and the right. Otherwise it would have a flat side facing out – not good. All other stitches in the entire design all face the same way.

I thought I would need at least two skeins of Watercolors for the borders, but it looks like I’ll be able to finish the borders with just one skein. Nice!  I’ll be finished with the border today and then can think about stitches to fill in the diamonds and hexagons. I’ve pulled threads to go with the Fiesta Watercolors in rust and turquoise (the cross stitch one was rust and teal). I have lots of choices – floss, impressions, Kreinik braid, Sprinkles, and maybe a few others. I want to use some special stitches to make this a little fancier than the cross stitch.

Here’s where I am on the project today, about three fourths of the way around:

NainNP-1

5 responses to “Nain Diamond Needlepoint

  1. I am intrigued. Did you map out a route to follow for the lines? My mind was trying to work it like black-work, but then you wouldn’t get the flow of colors. The flat points going east and west are not noticeable unless you are are looking too close. The eye fills in the points for you. Love the color and am waiting to see the finished piece. Judy

Leave a Reply

