Nain Diamond Needlepoint Finale

I want to show you the final three areas before I show the whole piece. I love the little Theresicas in medium turquoise Impressions with a small X in Kreinik braid. This stitch is from Suzie’s Stitches volume 2. The Rhodes stitches in the diamonds were stitched with two shades of turquoise Impressions, a signature stitch of mine. The last set of hexagons around the outside of the piece are Ray stitches that meet in the middle done in Vineyard Silk, Jessicas stitched with Elegance and a copper bead inside each Jessica. NainNP-final stitches I can’t believe how fast this stitched up – and how much fun I had choosing the stitches and getting it all finished up! NainNP-4 I’ll get started on stitching instructions right away and hope to have them ready for purchase in a week or so. My only regret on this design is that the overdye only had two colors. I love the way it turned out since I love rust and turquoise! But I wonder if it would be better with an overdye that had 3 colors – more variations in colors to use. Also – if you are a person who wants everything to be exact and balanced, this design might not make you happy. The hexagons are not exactly “true.” They appear to be correct, but can be off a little. The stitches I chose for the hexagons help to keep the illusion of being exact. Just to let you know ahead of time. Update – I had promised that I would show you the two versions (cross stitch and needlepoint) side by side. Here they are.

Nain Diamond Cross Stitch - 2014

Nain Diamond Cross Stitch – 2014

NainNP-4

10 responses to “Nain Diamond Needlepoint Finale

Leave a Reply

