Border Rug – Progress 9

I now have the rug on the larger stretcher bars and am working on the last border I can reach before I have to turn it on its side to make my life easier. Here is the motif for Band 4.

Border-band4

Simple stitches that are moving along quickly – mostly straight stitches and Gobelin. The burgundy is the same shade as the border around the outside of the rug. Here’s the rug so far. The photo looks a little fuzzy – sorry about that.

Border-June11

I’ll finish this  band and then turn it on its side and work on the outer border on the right side for at least two repeats of the pattern. Then I’ll turn in around and do the same for the outer border on the left side of the rug. To give you an idea of how much I still have to do, here is a photo of the entire canvas. The stretcher bars are 24″ wide and 34″ tall. The canvas is actually 36″ long to make sure I have 2″ on all sides when it is done. I fold the extra inch at each end down over the stretcher bar so it will fit inside the knuckle of the Twin Tower floor stand. This is the reason I have the 36″ bars on the Tower now instead of the 24″ bars – so my rugs will fit tightly and make it easier for me to stitch them.

Border-Prog9

The little mess of threads on the right side are leftover threads of different colors. Most of the time I use a half length of thread at a time, so the extra half goes in the pile along with any threads that are 10″ or more in length. You never know when they will come in handy.

I still have a small border, a medium border, and a large border in the center of the rug to go – before I start repeating all the bands in reverse order. A looooong way to go.

5 responses to “Border Rug – Progress 9

  1. This is such a lovely design! As a relative newbie to your blog, I haven’t seen it before so I am doubly impressed to see it well underway. When you get to the repeats on the other side it will feel like the downhill run 🙂

Leave a Reply

