Introducing the Peru Rug

I finally figured out how to do the borders for this rug and decided to jump right in! Here is the inspiration – a modern rug from Peru.

Peru1_2

If you look at it closely, you’ll see that the colors for the borders get lighter as it moves from the center to the outer edge at the right. With that in mind, I bought 5 shades of a family from Pepper Pot Silk and started stitching. The center is darker (Gingersnap) and the next set of diamonds is much lighter (Toasted Almond).

Peru-1

This is only part one of the border. I’ll add a second layer to make the inside of each diamond a smooth line. I’ll just be working on the borders for a while, changing colors as I go. The centers of the diamonds will be a lot of different patterns, some from the original rug and more that are different stitches or combinations that come to mind as I  play with the design. I will be changing the colors for the centers as well. The main color will be turquoise (again) with touches of yellow and a brilliant blue. Should be a lot of fun.

I’m working on this downstairs and it will be about 10″ X 17.” I’m trying hard to get Koshga finished, so this one doesn’t get worked on every day. It probably won’t be back here again for about 2 weeks.

 

5 responses to “Introducing the Peru Rug

Leave a Reply

