Peru Rug – Play Time

I’ve been working on the outline diamonds for this rug upstairs so I could get it completed a little faster. All 124 diamonds are now done and all the Sprat’s Heads are completed as well. Love those little half Sprat’s Heads at the four corners!

Peru-Diamonds

As you can see, the diamonds got lighter and lighter as I worked toward the outer edges. I used five different shades from one color family of Pepper Pot silk. Now that the diamonds are done, it’s time to play with stitches I will use to fill in those 124 diamonds. Below is my practice stitch canvas. It’s long and narrow and as I try out various stitches, I can move the canvas up a little at a time until it’s completely filled. I’m keeping track of the stitch names on a sheet of paper so I can tell you the names as I work on the rug. The practice stitch canvas is being stitched with a handful of floss and will NOT be the colors that I’m using for the actual rug. (I’m trying to use up my stash of Anchor floss.)

Peru-Samples

I have a list of about 40 stitches I’m going to try out before I start on the actual rug. I’ll be busy over the next week trying them out. Then I’ll start on the rug itself. Let the fun begin!

7 responses to “Peru Rug – Play Time

  1. You’ll have a reference canvas you’ll have after all the practice stitching. Nice way to use up stash threads that may not be used in any other project.

Leave a Reply

