Peru Rug – Starting to Fill In

I haven’t worked on this much, but need to get busy and finish filling in all those diamonds. I’ve only done 6 so far. My color scheme is yellow, turquoise, and bright blue. There will be a little off-white and white, but not very much. Here are the ones I’ve done so far.

DiamondStart

I’ve used Fyre Werks Holigram turquoise straight stitches on the very top one, then large cross stitches over that in yellow. Below that is Framed Mosaic using #4 Kreinik braid for the Mosaic stitches and an over dyed yellow thread. The bright blue to the right is the Arrowhead stitch, using El Molina rayon thread for the bright blue, and light yellow floss for the other stitches. The next row has the Ashley stitch on the left, done with Kreinik ribbon and Sparkle Rays. To the right of that is Vertical Wave stitch using an over dyed turquoise thread and bright yellow Vineyard Silk. The last one on the bottom is Twisted Cross and Ray stitches. The Twisted Cross is done in yellow Flair and the Ray stitch is done in El Molino rayon thread in blue.   I have a long way to go, and I know that I won’t be using 124 different stitches – there will be a lot of repeats. This is great way to use up lots of small amounts of thread from my stash. I have a large bag of threads, many of them with just a few yards. I hope to use up at least half of all those colors.

Here is the rug so far. You can see that I have a lot to do. See you next month with this rug – hoping to have at it half done by then.

Peru-4

6 responses to “Peru Rug – Starting to Fill In

  1. I love it! I keep trying to decide which one is my favorite. I think I like the outlines best. It reminds me of hardanger. I love the symmetry with the variation in the color. Again, awesome photography.

Leave a Reply

