Border Rug – Progress 13

I’m getting a little more time on this now that I’m not working on the mandala for the rest of the month. I have half of Band 6 done and I hope to have the other half done by the end of the week. It takes time to outline all the little diamonds, but they fill in very quickly using Triple Double Cross stitches. The lighter red along the edges is a variation of Sprat’s Head – used earlier in the band with olive and orange. The next section will be the middle band which is larger than any of the others. At the top, left you can see a few long stitches. That how much space the middle band will cover. The pale  yellow triangle on the left (that isn’t filled in yet) marks the center of the rug at exactly 16.25 inches. I have the center band charted for 75-80 threads, but the space available now is only about 67 threads. Some of the bands ended up being a thread or two wider than originally planned. So I will have to practice stitch and make some adjustments before I can start that one next week.

Band6-1

So I still have a lot of work to do. I want it done this year, so I really need to get to work on it. I have other rugs planned for next year and I don’t want to put them off. So here is the rug so far.

Border-Prog13

4 responses to “Border Rug – Progress 13

  1. I like the riot of color and geometry of this rug. I continue to be astounded by your dedication in designing and stitching the rugs, and the flexibility and creativity you exhibit when paper design doesn’t match with stitching. I know you’ll work out the stitch count for that middle band.

  2. Have I mentioned “Wow!”? And knowing in part all the other projects that you’re currently working on “double Wow!”

Leave a Reply

