Border Rug – Prog 14

I’m working on the center section of the rug now. Three large diamonds are centered across the center and I’ve started to set up the design for them. The diamonds are 64 threads wide and tall. The outer border is filled in with Smyrna Crosses in two shades of Silk & Ivory oranges (tiger and giraffe). The grid in the middle of the diamonds will be filled in with Smyrna Crosses as well from all the colors that are in the rug. I won’t tell you about the areas around the diamonds just yet.

Center-1

The photo below shows the rug so far. It was taken at an angle since I didn’t want to take it off the frame in order to take a straight-on photo. I’ll take extra time when the center is finished so you get a good look at it.

Border-Orig13

Since the size of this rug was determined by the outer border, I’m going to work down one side and get the outer border completed. Then I can verify that the borders as stitched so far will fit properly in the space on the bottom half of the canvas. I’m sure it will, but several of the borders cannot be adapted to be 1 or 2 smaller or larger. I want to make sure before I charge ahead to get the rug finished.

7 responses to “Border Rug – Prog 14

  1. Taking a quick break from my life too drool over yours! Mine – work, tooth extractions, bad reaction to pain medication – yours is looking better all the time! But seriously, I love your color names – tiger and giraffe!! Happy stitching!

Leave a Reply

