Jim Wurth’s Coronation – Finale

With the ornaments for my granddaughters completed, it was time to get the last of Jim Wurth’s Dodecagons done too. And here it is:

Coronation Finale

This was supposed to be done on red canvas and I mixed up the last two ornaments. So this is done on the black canvas. I’m upset with myself for mixing them up since you really can’t see the red Kreinik 4-Way stitch that fills in the center section and the Smyrna Crosses that fill in each Jessica. But it is still dramatic as it is. So I’ll live with it. LOL

Many have asked how these will be finished and now that all 12 are done, it’s time to work that out. While my DH and I were talking about it yesterday, I had a great idea! We don’t do a big tree anymore – no kids around at Christmas and we live in a small townhouse. That means that these 5 inch ornaments can’t go on the tree. So what about making a tree out of the ornaments and putting it up on the wall for everyone to see? I did a rough cut around each ornament this morning and laid them out on the floor for a quick photo.

Wurth tree

I’m going to finish them myself as “round” ornaments and no hanger. Looking at the photo, I think the two ornaments that are white/gold/silver should be the trunk of the tree. But that decision can be made later. We’ll also have to figure out how to hang them – mount them on a cloth and hang, wood tree-shaped piece, etc. But I do like the idea. What do you think?

7 responses to “Jim Wurth’s Coronation – Finale

  1. Very nice! I did something similar one year. When we first relocated to Arkansas after Hurricane K, we kept missing out I getting a Christmas tree even though we had gotten the ornaments and lights. So one year I just stacked all the ornaments and lights into a tree shape with the star atop and got some inexpensive touch lights to light everything up from the inside. It was very pretty. Last year we finally got our first real tree! Happy tree-making!

Leave a Reply

